Lazy Sunday Lists: 5 unnecessary remakes that I would totally love.

By Joe Strange


 

Between Halo CE Anniversary, The Legend of Zelda; The Windwaker HD remake and the Fable Anniversary, I think it’s safe to say that, much like the film industry, game makers aren’t particularly against remakes.

So to that end, I’ve compiled a list of my top five games that, for some reason or another, I’d love to see remade on the new generation of consoles, but probably don’t need to be made.

5: Mass Effect

I loved the Mass Effect trilogy, and would probably replay the entire series a thousand times if it weren’t for one little hiccough, the first game.

Don’t get me wrong, I like the game; the story is great, the world is rich and the set up for the rest of the series is awesome. It’s just a shame that it controls like butts, like major butts. I think it’s because the second game did everything so well, the Biotics were fun to use, the controls seemed smoother, and the game looked better. It’d be simple enough to revamp the engine to work more like the sequels and release the trilogy (DLC included) as a huge box set.

Simple, but not likely.

4: Halo 2

This one is a little more likely, and something we’ll get more information on (or not) at E3 in the coming week, but it’s still one I’d love to see.

I watched a friend play Halo 2 before I had an Xbox and fell in love with it. Arguably one of the best in the series, a Halo 2 remake would really only need a reskin and a few tweaks and it’d be perfect. As long as they kept the multiplayer the way it was in Halo 2 (and 3) and not the way it ended up come Reach, I’d be totally fine and great with investing in a remake.

3:  Pokemon Snap

Okay, so this one, unlike the previous ‘reskin and tweak’ entries, will require some serious work. Take away the on rails gameplay, add more regions and more Pokemon species and you could have something great.

Imagine roaming about in fields trying to lure out Beedrills or Butterfrees with honey, seeing Wurmples fight Caterpies over acorns. Then jumping on a boat to the Orange Islands and seeing Marils playing with Laprases, you could even use the Wii U gamepad as the camera itself.

Everyone wants an open world Pokemon game, well add some more tracking and baiting mechanics as well as different camera and attire upgrades (who doesn’t want to sneak up on a Scyther in a gillie suit?) and you could have the first step to a major fanbase pleaser.

2: Shadow of the Colossus

One of the older games on this list, from the PS2 era, this game has a passionate yet small following (in the grand scheme of things), and is praised for its touching story and grand atmosphere.

The expansive lands and huge colossi would be amazing to see in current generation glory, as well as opening a brilliant game to a larger market. The gameplay need not change too much either; using the ever popular parkour mechanics we see now for climbing the colossi would work nicely, edging more towards the difficult and gruelling climbing mechanics of the XBLA I am Alive would work particularly well.

1: The Legend of Zelda; Majora’s Mask.

Okay, I lied. This one isn’t unnecessary. This game’s remake is completely necessary. Anyone who knows me will testify that I never stop going on about this game, it’s by far my favourite Zelda game and just deserves more attention. We’ve had an Orcarina remake, we’ve had a Windwaker remake, WHERE’S MY MAJORA’S MASK REMAKE?

I demand to be terrified by Skull Kid, Creeped out by the Mask Salesman and traumatised by Zora deaths all over again, it can be on the Wii U or the 3DS, I don’t own either of them but as soon as it’s announced I’ll buy the crap out of whichever platform it’s going to.

Join in the conversation

