The Watch List: The Walking Dead

By Sara Da Silva


For some strange reason I have yet to write an article proclaiming my love for The Walking Dead, but that is all about to change.

In just a few minutes I shall attempt to outline all the reasons as to why The Walking Dead is one of my favourite shows, whilst simultaneously trying to convince you to watch it. If you already watch the show then good on you. If you don’t, then prepare yourself; you’re in for a bumpy ride.

Quick bit of background before I begin. The Walking Dead is a post-apocalyptic zombie horror series based on the comic by Robert Kirkman, Tony Moore, and Charlie Adlard. It premiered on AMC in 2010 and has been getting great reviews ever since; for good reason.

I shan’t give any major spoilers away because I know how some of you are. But of course, be warned, I can’t discuss The Walking Dead without outlining the plot.

In the first season we are introduced to Rick Grimes, a sheriff’s deputy, who awakens from a coma to find that the world has become overridden with flesh-eating zombies. The first season follows Rick on his journey to find his family. But along the way he encounters many other survivors; some who become main characters throughout the seasons. Season 2 is set on a farm, and whilst this living situation was only brief in the comics, the writers decided to stretch it out for an entire season. Perhaps not the smartest of moves, but I digress. In season 3 the group have moved on to a prison, which is definitely quite the upgrade. It is in this season that we’re introduced to The Governor who is the leader of the town of Woodbury, a fortified haven. But, as always, nothing is as good as it appears. Season 4, apart from the first, is potentially one of my favourite seasons. Let’s just say, without giving too much away, that shit really goes down in this season. Season 5 started a few weeks ago and it has yet to disappoint. With the increase in budget due to its rising success, the creators of the show have really been able to push the boat out with what’s possible. Bravo.

Might I also add my many thanks to the casting team as they sure have done a terrific job. Whilst I might not always like Rick’s character, I do appreciate the incredible acting of Andrew Lincoln (who you might have seen in Love Actually). But of course the talent does not end there. The casting list could have me rambling on for days so I’ll highlight some of the best: Norman Reedus (Daryl Dixon), Steven Yeun (Glenn Rhee), Lauren Cohan (Maggie Greene), Danai Gurira (Michonne) and Chandler Riggs, who plays Carl Grimes, AKA the character that everyone loves to hate. Most of us have a love hate relationship with a lot of these characters but I find it very difficult to fault any of the acting. Even the babies who plays Judith (season 4 spoiler alert) appears to have mastered the art of acting on camera.

In addition to the great casting, the special effects and make up used in the show really takes it to a whole new level. If you like gory then definitely tune in.

Don’t even get me started on the rest of the franchise because I could be here for hours. I’ll just say that if you like the show then you’ll definitely like the comic and the video game. You’ll be in for a right treat.

The Walking Dead is definitely one of the greatest shows currently on television so I urge you to go watch. Trust me, it’ll be worth it.

Join in the conversation

