Reaction Time: WWE Royal Rumble

By Sara Da Silva


This isn’t your normal Axby article, but if you’re a fan of WWE then stay tuned. I was a massive fan growing up, but it was only recently that I rediscovered my love for it. With that said, I of course tuned in to the 28th Annual Royal Rumble which was held on the 25th of January in the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

I decided to write this article in two parts: pre show and post show.

So, let us travel back to Sunday night

Hello Axby readers and fellow WWE fans. The Royal Rumble is still 3 hours away and despite the fact that I have to wake up stupidly early tomorrow I’m going to stay up and watch it. There are two matches that I’m especially looking forward to: the triple threat match for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship and the Royal Rumble match (duh).

Of course I’ve heard so many rumours about the Royal Rumble match. The twitterverse keeps pointing toward Roman Reigns as this year’s victor. But, despite all the rumours I’ll still maintain my naïve hope that Dean Ambrose, Daniel Bryan or Dolph Ziggler will emerge victorious. I mean a girl can dream, right?

Brock Lesnar, the current WWE World Heavyweight Champion, will go head-to-head-to-head with John Cena and Seth Rollins in a triple threat match. My prediction is that Seth will cash in his Money in the Bank contract to snag the title. But I suppose I’ll just have to wait and see.

Whilst I’m at it I might as well give my predictions for the other matches:

1. The New Day (Big E and Kofi Kingston) vs. Tyson Kidd and Cesaro in a tag team match. Predicted winners: Tyson Kidd and Cesaro
2. The New Age Outlaws vs. The Ascension in a tag team match. Predicted Winners: The New Age Outlaws (perhaps more of a wish than a prediction)
3. The Usos vs. The Miz and Damien Mizdow in a Tag team match for the WWE Tag Team Championship. Predicted winners: The Usos (who will retain their titles).
4. Paige and Natalya vs. The Bella Twins in a tag team match. Predicted winners: The Bella Twins

And now, back to the present (aka the lesser known sequel to Back to the Future)…

The Royal Rumble was kicked off in the pre-show with a tag team match between The New Day and Tyson Kidd and Cesaro. Looks like my prediction was right. They just have great athletic chemistry and it looks like it paid off.

Next up: The New Age Outlaws vs. The Ascension. I audibly tutted when The Ascension made their entrance. Ain’t nobody got time for that. Sadly they won.

My heart was torn during the The Usos vs. The Miz and Damien Mizdow tag team match. I love the Usos but I, along with the rest of the WWE universe, adore Damien Mizdow. Mizdow is always best for business. The Usos picked up the victory which I’m very happy about, after all, Mizdow still has time to shine in the Royal Rumble match.

The Divas tag team match was up next. The Bella Twins continually show how talented they are and this match was no exception. Natalya and Paige, a fairly unlikely pairing, just weren’t good enough against the twins who picked up the win in definite style. Looks like ¾ of my predictions were right so far.

Now, on to one of the biggest matches of the night: Lesnar vs. Cena vs. Rollins.

Brock Lesnar, the man who defeated the Undertaker and ended his undefeated WrestleMania streak, John Cena, whose support matches that of marmite (you either love him or hate him, get it? No?) and Seth Rollins, aka Mr Money in the Bank, all in one ring. My personal favourite parts of the match included Rollins’ incredible leap from the top rope to land on Lesnar who was lying on top of the commentator’s table and the unbelievably loud boos aimed at Cena from the Philadelphia crowd. It seemed as though Rollins was going to emerge victorious but Lesnar managed to cling on to his title. Guess my prediction was wrong. All I know is that Rollins was definitely MVP.

Last, but certainly not least, my favourite match of the whole year: the Royal Rumble match. This year’s 30 competitors included (in their correct order): the Miz, R-Truth, Bubba Ray Dudley, Luke Harper, Bray Wyatt, Curtis Azel (who was quickly replaced with Erick Rowan), The Boogeyman, Sin Cara, Zack Ryder, Daniel Bryan, Fandango, Tyson Kidd, Stardust, Diamond Dallas Page, Rusev, Goldust, Kofi Kingston, Adam Rose, Roman Reigns, Big E, Damien Mizdow, Jack Swagger, Ryback, Kane, Dean Ambrose, Titus O’Neil, Wade Barrett, Cesaro, Big Show and Dolph Ziggler.

The match had it’s ups and downs, especially when some of the WWE’s best were eliminated. Ziggler, Ambrose and Bryan I’m looking at you. I especially did not enjoy the Boogeyman’s entrance seeing as he genuinely gave me nightmares when I was a kid. Luckily for me he was eliminated pretty quickly. The final four came down to Dean Ambrose, Roman Reigns, Kane and the Big Show. Well actually, Rusev hadn’t been eliminated so he went one on one with Reign’ at the end. Alas, it could have been so much better. Roman Reigns, as everyone had guessed, emerged victories and will now go on to face Brock Lesnar for the WWE World Title at WrestleMania.

So now the Royal Rumble is over, welcome to the road to WrestleMania.

And now I shall resume normal Axby programming.

Join in the conversation

