Good Vibrations

This week I’m going to be talking about good vibes! And no, I haven’t had a personality transplant. “Good vibes” is not a phrase I use often, if at all really, but after watching Kyle Bosman’s most recent episode of The Final Bosman on Good Vibes and Metroid Prime it’s all I can think about.

Like myself Kyle Bosman is a fairly straight laced individual, we both wear ties during a normal week, and formality tends to be the norm. Yet every now and then both of us can make statements that are out of the norm; and today I’m all about the good vibes! *puts on shades* *then takes them off because the screen is no longer viewable*

So why good vibes? Well the context for it is “game feel”. When you’re playing a game and there is just something about it that feels right. In essence it’s pure subjectivity. Hyrule Warriors might warrant a solid score of 7, but that game is full of good vibes! It’s satisfying wailing on hundreds of Zelda themed enemies and for me a considerable amount of the vibes comes from the excellent soundtrack, which is a collection of remixes of the classic Legend of Zelda music we all know and love.

In a way Nintendo are the masters of good vibes. It helps that their games are solid pieces of entertainment, if a Nintendo game was released in the same state as Assassin’s Creed: Unity then something has gone very wrong at Nintendo (and in the world). It is very rare for a Nintendo developed game to get a low score, meaning it is very difficult to say a Nintendo game is bad. Yet Kyle makes the good point that just because we think Captain Toad is a brilliant game, doesn’t mean everyone will like it. I might experience good vibes from it, but that doesn’t mean it will gel with everyone.

Recently I took advantage of Nintendo’s very generous deal for release of the Metroid Prime Trilogy on the WiiU. The Metroid Prime series is interesting because whilst I agree with Kyle about the good vibes that come from the original Metroid Prime, as a game I’m not a huge fan of it, mostly because I found the controls too clunky and this got in the way. Yet the games atmosphere is almost unmatched. Metroid Prime 3: Corruption on the other hand does not excel in the same well in regards to its atmosphere. Don’t get me wrong, it does have a really good feel to it, but nowhere near to the same extent as the original. However, the controls make the game so much more engaging, and as a result I’m enjoying my time with Corruption so much more, and therefore I’m in the minority for actually preferring Corruption over the original. That is the power of good vibes. Although I haven’t tried out the original using the motion controls, so that might change.

Of course there are non-Nintendo examples of this. Just last night I tried out the Battlefield Hardline beta. The interesting thing about playing the beta was that by the end of the evening I was having so much fun that it was distracting me from playing the game properly. The aim of the game is to shoot people, yet I was perfectly content messing about half way up a skyscraper and parachuting, or just faffing about in a helicopter. Getting a good score no longer became a concern of mine. In a sense the game failed. It wasn’t just me, I noticed as I went on the total scores of everyone else  dropped ever lower as well. Congratulations to EA for making a fun FPS, but as a competitive shooter it needs refining. So in this scenario the good vibes were of a detriment to the core game, which is a pretty unique situation for a game of this nature to be in.

Of course there are plenty of games with bad vibes, I think it’s safe to say that microtransactions are a considerable source of bad vibes (once again I’m looking at you Unity), but today I’m all about the good vibes. Some of my favourite games have received bad review scores, yet for me games like Killer7 and Deadly Premonition are a continued source of good vibes. So don’t worry about what other people say, if a game gives you good vibes, then its all good.

Stay groovy people!

 

*Next week the New 3DS comes out, so I’ll either have it and I’ll be irrationally praising it, or I’ll still be waiting and will be hyping myself up further like the irrational Nintendo fanboy that I am.*

Join in the conversation

