Sara’s Season Finale Rundown

It’s time to say farewell to a few of our best-loved TV shows, but luckily it won’t be for too long. The next few weeks will be filled with season finale episodes and probably a lot of cliff-hangers and surprising twists. Some have already ended and my emotions are currently running wild. Be warned, there will be spoilers.

Arrow: ‘My Name Is Oliver Queen’

As far as season finales go, ‘My Name is Oliver Queen’ was pretty great. Oliver finally reveals his plan to save Starling City; the team finally works as a team again and stops the spread of the virus; and Oliver kills Ra’s just before being shot by a police sniper and then saved by Felicity dressed in Ray’s ATOM suit. The finale was strangely positive. Something that I’m certainly not used to when watching Arrow. I guess Malcolm Merlyn becoming the new head of the League of Assassins balances out the episode. Surely that can’t end well.

The season finale of Arrow seemed very, well, final. Oliver and Felicity rode off into the sunset after killing Ra’s al Ghul, but what now? If we didn’t know that Arrow had been renewed for a fourth season or that DC’s Legends of Tomorrow was being made, we probably would have assumed that that was it. Luckily it isn’t, and hopefully Oliver will be back fighting crime in no time. Maybe not as the Arrow, even though that might break my heart.

I’m very intrigued and nervous about how they’ll handle the next season. But I have the utmost faith that the writers won’t let me down.

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D: ‘S.O.S’

No, no, no, no, please no.

If you watched the finale of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D then you’re well aware of why my heart aches. Fitz and Simmons were finally going to realise that they’re meant to be together and then the Kree stone decides to rip my heart out by absorbing her. Really writers? You do this to me?

At least Bobbi didn’t die saving Hunter and Coulson only lost an arm. But, and there’s a bit but, the Terrigen crystals have taken on a new form: ordinary fish oils that will be sold in supermarkets. Oops. Oh and Ward will be out for revenge as he accidently killed Kara who he thought was Agent May.

We find out towards the end of the episode that Skye will be leading a team of powered people, which appears to be a nod to Marvel’s Secret Warriors. Well at least I hope it is. Perhaps this is how Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D will link to Captain America: Civil War, but we’ll have to wait till 2016 to find out.

But at least we can still get our MCU fix through Ant-Man, which comes out in July.

Reign: ‘Burn’

Excuse me, what? So much happened in such a short period of time and the finale left us with so many more questions.

So, Mary told Conde that she was pregnant with his baby but it was all a ruse and she stabbed him. I’m not going to say I was surprised. Amidst the chaos of the siege, Catherine had Lola and Francis’ baby abducted so Conde would be blamed, and then killed, but Francis found out and she has been exiled. Oh, and Conde escaped. After all that, Catherine is now in England plotting with Queen Elizabeth against Mary. We’ll have to see how that plan pans out.

Up next in the list of crazy castle happenings: Kenna is pregnant with Renaude’s baby, but he was just hanged for treason. Kenna and Bash’s marriage (yes, she is/was married) fell apart once Bash found out that she was carrying another man’s baby. But, being the resourceful woman she is, she has found her next target: a shy young king. Delphine, Bash’s side chick, turns out to be a crazy witch who bound their souls together before almost being burnt at the stake.

And last, but certainly not least, the big cliff-hanger: Francis and Mary rekindled their flame, if you know what I mean, but we also found out that he’s dying. So, there’s that.

Like I said, we’re left with more questions than answers: Where on Earth is Conde? Will Catherine really betray Francis by working with Queen Elizabeth? Will Mary’s love really be the end of Francis, just like the prophecy said? I guess we’ll have to wait and see in season 3.

If you have never seen this show and you are very confused by everything I have said then I urge you to go watch it. Yes, it can be very historically inaccurate at times but once you’re past that then you’ll have a great time. Trust me.

Join in the conversation

