Sara’s Summer Grab Bag

By Sara Da Silva


Strangely, for Britain, summer has arrived early. I’d have thought we’d still be having frequent bouts of rain but maybe I was wrong. Or maybe I have just jinxed it. Either way, summer is no time for staying inside and binge watching 10-season long TV shows, unless you’re me. So, here’s a list of some one-two season television shows for you to sink your teeth into.

1. Firefly

The fandom was outraged when they found out that Firefly was cancelled after just one season. But, as it is so short, it’s pretty easy to catch up on and be entertained. You should definitely watch this classic if you haven’t yet, it’s a necessity.

2. The Tomorrow People

My heart breaks to tell you that The Tomorrow People was cancelled. It went too soon. I guess ratings weren’t high enough. But still, I absolutely adored this show.
It tells the story of “the tomorrow people” who, as a result of evolution, have adopted superhuman abilities, and are thus being hunted by a genetic cleansing organisation called Ultra. The premise has definitely been overdone in the science fiction universe, but this show will still leave you feeling satisfied.

3. Pushing Daisies

Oh, Pushing Daisies, why did you have to leave me so soon? If only I had the power to reanimate this show like Ned had the ability to bring back the dead with a single touch. The story was so wonderfully told and the cast were delightfully brilliant. My fingers will permanently be crossed in hopes that Pushing Daisies will be adapted into a movie or musical.

4. Graceland

You’ve heard me rave on about Graceland in previous articles, but seriously you must watch this show. There are 25 episodes in total, so that’s 17.5 hours of glorious television time. Season 3 of Graceland is scheduled to begin on the 25th of June. So, if you watch 2 episodes a day you’ll be ready for the new season to start, that’s doable, right? The anticipation might very well be the end of me.

5. Orange is the New Black

June 12th. That date has been in my calendar for some time now. It’s the date that the third season of Orange is the New Black premieres on Netflix. Like Graceland, it’s a show that desperately needs watching. I’m 100% sure that I’ll be binge watching the episodes as soon as they’re uploaded onto Netflix. It’s every binge-watcher’s dream.

Join in the conversation

